Log In   |   Sign Up

Advertisement

The Haunting at Horse Creek Reviews

 
« Back To Profile Leave A Review »
  • 19926 E Duner Rd
  • Bluford, IL
  • 618-315-4752
Details
Average Review
Review Me
Scare Factor
Very Scary
Appropriate For
Ages ten years and above.
Organization Type
Charity / NOT For Profit
Listing Categories
Haunted Houses, Haunted Hay Rides, Haunted Trails, Hay Rides (Kid Friendly), Other Events
Review This Haunt
  • Unique story line

    A unique story line that had us all enthralled with its presentation. There were beasts and ghosts lurking in the dark corners as we crossed the trail. Hay ride was enjoyable. It was the best and had fun and jump scares. The artists were skilled and they knew how to evoke fear. Some were funny also. The hayride has great exhibits and was creatively designed. It was like entering a different world filled with scary figures and other hellish looking monsters. On the whole a very neatly executed trail and hayride. Don’t mind returning back for the next Halloween season.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted April 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Awesome place

    It is the story telling that makes the Haunting at Horse Creek experience interesting. The scary elements of the tale start to pick your brain when you’re stranded in the haunted trail. The props, light effects and the creepy looking characters soon starts to overwhelm your resolve. More often than not, you can’t anticipate the scares. My GF screamed out loud multiple times. It was lots of scary fun out there. The actors were professional and their costumes and makeup were top-notch. I will come again for sure, probably with my friends.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • A treat for haunt lovers

    The Haunting at Horse Creek is a treat for haunt fans. I and my friends visited the place and had an absolute blast. Its haunted trail and hayride had some of the best scares I’d ever seen. The hayride is light-hearted. But the mood changes once the wagon stops in the dark woods. The story sets the tone for what lies ahead. Each group has only one flashlight and we are left to tread the unguided walk. Scary figures could emerge from all sides anytime and scare you out of your wits. There was lots of screaming going on all around. Ticket prices were reasonable too. I will come again.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Horrible

    We waited over 2 hours just to get on the hayride. Then get out there to get split up from my group! Waisted my money & will not be back! Very disappointed....

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    0 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Scary good time

    We have been visiting this place and surprisingly get bigger and better. I was never disappointed. The event has two main attractions, the hayride and haunted trail. Both were equally good. The haunt trail was terror infested. We had a scary good time and were glad it was over. It was the actors and the make up that excelled. The cast followed a storyline and did hold on till the end without a break. The costume department worked hard on the outfits and they were all quite unique. We had fun, laughter and of course fear, that was ultimate. Coming back again.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Right mix of scares, props and fun

    I can vouch that this was one of the best haunts I’d visited of late. It had the right mix of scares, props and fun. The dark woods and haunted trail were well designed. The story at the beginning was the best part and it sows the seeds of fear in your mind. Once you’re on your own in the dark, the story starts to play havoc in your mind. You can’t say when some creepy character jumps on your way. To be honest, I screamed my lungs out when it happened. Overall, it was an exciting and scary 45 minutes in the dark. I am planning to bring my wife along next time.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Eclectic mix of fun and fear

    Hayrides and trails has always been our favorite due to its eclectic mix of fun and fear. I really love the way actors plan out the scenes. The trail had enough jump scares to get your heart pounding. It was really funny running around in dimly lit surroundings not knowing what to expect next. Kids do get more scared. We were in small teams and split into different directions. This made us feel isolated and the fear in us grew. A great entertainment option you can plan to spend with family and friends.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Unique story line

    A unique story line that had us all enthralled with its presentation. There were beasts and ghosts lurking in the dark corners as we crossed the trail. Hay ride was enjoyable. It was the best and had fun and jump scares. The artists were skilled and they knew how to evoke fear. Some were funny also. The hayride has great exhibits and was creatively designed. It was like entering a different world filled with scary figures and other hellish looking monsters. On the whole a very neatly executed trail and hayride. Don’t mind returning back for the next Halloween season.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted April 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Awesome place

    It is the story telling that makes the Haunting at Horse Creek experience interesting. The scary elements of the tale start to pick your brain when you’re stranded in the haunted trail. The props, light effects and the creepy looking characters soon starts to overwhelm your resolve. More often than not, you can’t anticipate the scares. My GF screamed out loud multiple times. It was lots of scary fun out there. The actors were professional and their costumes and makeup were top-notch. I will come again for sure, probably with my friends.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • A treat for haunt lovers

    The Haunting at Horse Creek is a treat for haunt fans. I and my friends visited the place and had an absolute blast. Its haunted trail and hayride had some of the best scares I’d ever seen. The hayride is light-hearted. But the mood changes once the wagon stops in the dark woods. The story sets the tone for what lies ahead. Each group has only one flashlight and we are left to tread the unguided walk. Scary figures could emerge from all sides anytime and scare you out of your wits. There was lots of screaming going on all around. Ticket prices were reasonable too. I will come again.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Horrible

    We waited over 2 hours just to get on the hayride. Then get out there to get split up from my group! Waisted my money & will not be back! Very disappointed....

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    0 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Scary good time

    We have been visiting this place and surprisingly get bigger and better. I was never disappointed. The event has two main attractions, the hayride and haunted trail. Both were equally good. The haunt trail was terror infested. We had a scary good time and were glad it was over. It was the actors and the make up that excelled. The cast followed a storyline and did hold on till the end without a break. The costume department worked hard on the outfits and they were all quite unique. We had fun, laughter and of course fear, that was ultimate. Coming back again.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Right mix of scares, props and fun

    I can vouch that this was one of the best haunts I’d visited of late. It had the right mix of scares, props and fun. The dark woods and haunted trail were well designed. The story at the beginning was the best part and it sows the seeds of fear in your mind. Once you’re on your own in the dark, the story starts to play havoc in your mind. You can’t say when some creepy character jumps on your way. To be honest, I screamed my lungs out when it happened. Overall, it was an exciting and scary 45 minutes in the dark. I am planning to bring my wife along next time.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Eclectic mix of fun and fear

    Hayrides and trails has always been our favorite due to its eclectic mix of fun and fear. I really love the way actors plan out the scenes. The trail had enough jump scares to get your heart pounding. It was really funny running around in dimly lit surroundings not knowing what to expect next. Kids do get more scared. We were in small teams and split into different directions. This made us feel isolated and the fear in us grew. A great entertainment option you can plan to spend with family and friends.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • So creepyyy

    It was by accident that I and couple of my friends ended up at the Haunting at Horse Creek. But it was worth the ride and the money spent on tickets. The initial hayride is fun with little or no scares. But the haunted trail had some nice nerve wracking scares and props. You can’t anticipate when those creepy looking characters have a go at you. The fact that your group got only one flashlight won’t help your matters either. Actor makeup looked realistic. The staff was friendly too. Recommend this place to everyone.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Good

    It’s good just some of the scares could be better love the story and how it plays off

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted September 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Not worthy

    Not a worthy attraction. They try to scare us with some night toy!! The prices are cheap...still we expect something to scream or jump.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    0 out of 4 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Had a fabulous night

    I had a fabulous evening here, and quite honestly, it’s one of the best hayride I’ve ever experienced. Great actors pumped with energy to scare us. $10 admission fee was very cheap.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Not enough scary

    Took my son for his first haunted attraction and we all are very disappointed with the overall experience. The hayride was good but not enough scary. The trail was just a walk through decorated trees. We expected a lot of jump scares in every turns…may be they are short in staff. All we got feared was it was too dark.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    0 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Incredible haunt

    Incredible experience. Great place to visit during Halloween. We had a great time with kids. Kids really enjoyed the hayride. Waiting for next year.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Average scares

    Got bored waiting in the lines. The whole damn thing was really not worth it. The only thing you may like is their cheap pricing; may be because they are providing average scares only.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    0 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Good Time

    Had a great time!!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Excellent

    A must go place for hayride lovers. Excellent ambience loaded with tons of scaring sound and stuffs. Amazing actors and well-behaved staffs. Awesome experience at such a meagre admission fee of just 410. Keep it up Horse Creek!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Awesome!

    It just gets better and better every year! Good fun, lots of scares, and lots of laughter! Loved the story, set the mood for it. And weeded out the weak ones to ride back up to the fire pit.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Great value, great scares, and great fun!

    The neatest haunt I have been to. A great environment and value. Affordable enough to take the whole family but it may be too much for preteen kids.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Great fun for all!

    They have added some new features this year which have made it even better! Never know what's going to happen!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Totally Scary

    They set up the scares so well and you're never safe! Don't turn the corner thinking you're finally out of it because you never know what's there. It scared me enough to give me a panic attack!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Spooky

    My kids love Horse Creek. It has been two years in a row, they’ve never repeated anything. Excellent hayride and the walk in the dark woods were damn scary. We all got spooked and enthralled by the sounds of the night toy. Can’t wait to see them next year.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Great night of fun

    Our group has made this a yearly tradition for a night of fun. The organizers are great at making changes every year so you aren't seeing the same thing over and over. The workers are all great from beginning to end. We love the fear factor. It's just enough to make you look over your shoulder. You can tell they put a lot of time and effort into this facility.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Best haunt around!

    We visit Horse Creek every year! I love it because of all the different things you get to do! It is a good time from beginning to end and the price is right!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Awesome haunt

    Best haunted house I’ve been to yet! Def have to go if in the area!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Awesome

    Excellent presentation amazing story well worth the drive.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Unmatched atmosphere and intensity!

    Thanks to its remote location and immersive experience The Haunting at Horse Creek in Northeast Jefferson County is the scariest southern Illinois has to offer.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Haunting at Horse Creek

    The atmosphere is terrifying, the storyteller is engrossing and peaks your heightened imagination. Be prepared for a night to remember and you will want to go back again. I have heard that it gets better every year. And the proceeds go to a great cause.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified This was such a scary experience

    The whole thing looked so professional and clean and the actors were guinuenly scary as well as the special effects makeup put into it. You also donate to a charity which makes you feel good about crapping yourself

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Loved it!!!

    The haunting at horsecreek is definitely a must see!! Definitely worth the money and it also donates to charity . overall it was a great experience and I can't wait to go back with other friends. So much to experience and to actually be in a spooky environment was so awesome

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified THE BOMB

    YOU WILL SHIT YOUR PANTS

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Check it out

    Great place to visit very scary and reasonably priced.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • The best! Definitely worth your time!

    Definitely worth your time! All volunteer work and the money goes to relay for life that alone makes it worth it! You won’t be disappointed!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Enjoyed ghost story and hayride

    This was my second visit. Amazing I could say. We enjoyed ghost storytelling and hayride in to the dark woods. It was so scary and I could see my friends screaming and jumping. The team work is great. The performers are well trained. Would love to visit them again next year.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Great

    It's definitely scaary

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Full of terror

    We visited Horse creek last weekend and loved it! High standard details and well-organized hayride. The walk in the dark woods is full of terror and scintillating performance delivered by all actors. Very friendly staffs, as they helped us with a pair of shoes for the walk. Highly recommended.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • horror and fun adventures

    Kids were excited and had lots of fun. Best place to spend a night enjoying horror and fun adventures. Unguided walk through the dark is really a wonderful experience. Definitelywill be back next year.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified THE SHIZZZZZZZZZLE

    ITS THE WOODS WHAT MORE DO YOU WANT IF YOU GOT HEART PROBLEM DON'T DO IT WHY PAY 100 BUCKS WHEN YOU GOT A GOOD PRICE HERE THIS ONE OF THE BEST TAKE IT FROM SOMEBODY WHO LIVED IN CHICAGO

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted September 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified THE SHIZZZZZZZZZLE

    I WAS ON THE FLOOR THE WHOLE TIME SO WHAT YOU THINK IM 47 YEARS OLD LOL OFF THE HIZZZZZLE THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted September 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Fun fun fun

    Great time for little money.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted September 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Scary good time

    Great rate for a great cause. If your looking for a good scare this is the place. It lasts longer than other places that our overpriced. Its not always the same people or the same scares if you go multiple times during the season. There's a awesome story at the beginning to set the mood before you set out in the woods. There's concessions and firepits while you wait to get on the wagon.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted September 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    4 out of 4 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Great scares for a great price.

    One of the scariest around.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted August 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

Review This Attraction

  • Click to rate
  • Do not use all capital letters. No profanity.
  • Be specific - the more details the better. No HTML.
  • Administrative use only. Will NOT be displayed
  • Click to rate
  • Click to rate
  • Click to rate
  • I have more to say about this haunt (optional)
  • Would you recommended to a friend?
  • Suitable for families with kids?