Log In   |   Sign Up

Advertisement

Basement of the Dead Haunted House Reviews

 
« Back To Profile
  • 42 W New York St
  • Aurora, IL
  • 630-896-2466
Details
Average Review
Review Me
Scare Factor
Very Scary
Appropriate For
13 and older
Organization Type
Commercial / For Profit
Listing Categories
Haunted Houses, Escape Games
Review This Haunt
  • Greatest Haunted House Ever

    This haunt is worth every Penny. Totally AWESOME!!!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted September 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Super Scary

    Super Scary. I had a blast with my friends at this place. It all started with a strong strength to fight against the fear, but the actors did a phenomenal task. Impressed by their costumes and equipment’s they were holding. We all got spooked and one of my best buddies never left me and help up my t-shirt till the end. Queues were long, so grab a fast pass ticket to skip the line. We had the general admission tickets. Overall, a lifetime experience and we’ll definitely come back.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Startling Scares

    We drove almost 3 ½ hours to the Basement of Dead Haunted House, expecting a very good scare. The visit was beyond our expectations. The outdoor venue was absolutely beautiful. They had 2 different houses to walk through and both of them had startling scares and props. One among the houses was in 3D, which was a different experience for us. The serpent creature was a frightening character. The attention to detail in the sets was impressive. Staff were helpful. We had a great time at the Basement.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Terrifying haunt

    Full of horror and terrifying stuffs to be explored. Skilled actors and friendly staffs. Enjoyed the DJ, while standing in the queue for half an hour. Atmosphere was thrilling. I’m surely visiting again.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Great Experience

    Scary to the hilt. Usually I don’t get scared in haunted houses. But this one was different. The DJ played for the visitors waiting in the line...it helped kill boredom. The Zombie hunt was fun. We also did the Trauma Escape room and after much brain scratching, we made it out just in time. My favourite was the clowns. The ticket rates were reasonable. Check this place out if love good scares.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Scary actors

    Astonished! Great maze and very interactive rooms. Love the 3D room and it was my first time. Scary actors and well-behaved staffs. Keep up the good work guys!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Amazing experience

    A full stack of inveterate actors underpinned by special effects and animatronics was delivered on me last weekend. Amazing experience, I think a new horror one. The maze was portrayed similar to horror movies and darkness was damn cool with steep stairs and costumes of ghosts did the rest. All in all, a wonderful experience of non-stop attacks!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Greatest Haunted House Ever

    This haunt is worth every Penny. Totally AWESOME!!!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted September 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Super Scary

    Super Scary. I had a blast with my friends at this place. It all started with a strong strength to fight against the fear, but the actors did a phenomenal task. Impressed by their costumes and equipment’s they were holding. We all got spooked and one of my best buddies never left me and help up my t-shirt till the end. Queues were long, so grab a fast pass ticket to skip the line. We had the general admission tickets. Overall, a lifetime experience and we’ll definitely come back.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Startling Scares

    We drove almost 3 ½ hours to the Basement of Dead Haunted House, expecting a very good scare. The visit was beyond our expectations. The outdoor venue was absolutely beautiful. They had 2 different houses to walk through and both of them had startling scares and props. One among the houses was in 3D, which was a different experience for us. The serpent creature was a frightening character. The attention to detail in the sets was impressive. Staff were helpful. We had a great time at the Basement.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Terrifying haunt

    Full of horror and terrifying stuffs to be explored. Skilled actors and friendly staffs. Enjoyed the DJ, while standing in the queue for half an hour. Atmosphere was thrilling. I’m surely visiting again.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Great Experience

    Scary to the hilt. Usually I don’t get scared in haunted houses. But this one was different. The DJ played for the visitors waiting in the line...it helped kill boredom. The Zombie hunt was fun. We also did the Trauma Escape room and after much brain scratching, we made it out just in time. My favourite was the clowns. The ticket rates were reasonable. Check this place out if love good scares.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Scary actors

    Astonished! Great maze and very interactive rooms. Love the 3D room and it was my first time. Scary actors and well-behaved staffs. Keep up the good work guys!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Amazing experience

    A full stack of inveterate actors underpinned by special effects and animatronics was delivered on me last weekend. Amazing experience, I think a new horror one. The maze was portrayed similar to horror movies and darkness was damn cool with steep stairs and costumes of ghosts did the rest. All in all, a wonderful experience of non-stop attacks!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Highly Recommended

    I think a lot of effort has been put into the design of the sets. Queue actors were really creepy. The 3D haunt was mind-blowing.. the chroma depth painting in the walls as well as the floors were amazing to say the least. There were plenty of hidden scares at every corner of the house. Maze trail was very frightening as well as confusing in places. Character Joe and the ice-cream clown were very spooky. Overall, I and my GF had a great time there. I will recommend this house to everyone.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Full of terror

    Got there and stuck in the queue for an hour. But, there were actors who were entertaining us and length of stay inside the house was also pushing the queue to wait longer. We spent an hour inside the house, full of terror, attacks by actors and scary sounds. We screamed a hell lot. Kudos to Basement of the Dead Haunted House.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Spooky scariness

    True to its name. Unique maze with spooky scariness all the time brings the best Halloween experience. All the actors did the perfect job and screaming was a kind of normal for me. Great work team!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Electrifying ambience

    Loved it. Great actors and nice staffs. Ample space for parking and electrifying ambience. All attractions were scary and frightening. Kudos to actors.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Totally sucks

    Totally sucks! Visited with my family expecting a great fun and scary night. But we were sent in with a group of some disrespectful teenagers and they ruined the whole experience.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Worst

    The scariest part was the 2 hour line to get in. The buildup was more fun than the house itself. Never going again.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Need to improve

    I am rating them three stars. The whole set up was great…the special effects and costumes were good. But they haven’t given enough training for the actors. There were several missed opportunities to scare people.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • There is a reason they are #1 in world!

    Basement of the Dead actors/sets are top of the line! they get better and better every year!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: 11-20 minutes
    Time Visited: 5PM - 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: Unsure
    Posted September 2016

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Awesome Experience!

    The Chicago Tribune and Hauntworld were right in ranking Basement/Shattered #1 in 2013. Not for the faint of heart and it was the scariest haunted house I have been to.

    Posted September 2014

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • 3d haunted house and basement of the dead!!!

    This place is awesome, safe, and very scary. Plus did I mention you can do it in 3D!!! WORTH EVERY PENNY. short lines, snacks and drinks, never before seen effects. Highly recommended.

    Posted October 2012

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 4 found this review helpful

Review This Attraction

  • Click to rate
  • Do not use all capital letters. No profanity.
  • Be specific - the more details the better. No HTML.
  • Administrative use only. Will NOT be displayed
  • Click to rate
  • Click to rate
  • Click to rate
  • I have more to say about this haunt (optional)
  • Would you recommended to a friend?
  • Suitable for families with kids?