Log In   |   Sign Up

Advertisement

The Haunting of Chittyville School Reviews

 
« Back To Profile Leave A Review »
  • 401 Chittyville Rd.
  • Herrin, IL
  • 618-942-6111
Details
Average Review
Review Me
Scare Factor
Moderately Scary
Appropriate For
Brave Souls
Organization Type
Charity / NOT For Profit
Listing Categories
Haunted Houses, Escape Games
Review This Haunt
  • Enjoyed a lot...

    This was our first time here and we were so excited. Excellent props, sets and scare concepts! The rooms had different themes. Clowns scared the daylight out of my wife. Lair was quite unique and scary. This was my first time in an outdoor haunt. Escape rooms were challenging to say the least. Overall, we enjoyed our time in there.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted May 2020

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Well planned

    It was a scary fun night at the Chittyville school haunt and we had a great time. I was there with my friends on a Tuesday and we tried everything including the escape room. The haunted house was immaculately planned. There was no scope of error from the actors.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Great value

    Great value for the price haunt! The actors did a fab job. With the right makeover, they easily scared the wits out of us. Exceptional makeup and scenery. The escape room was so much fun. The puzzles were tough and putting the pieces together took us some time. Definitely coming back!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Thrilling experience

    The scares were perfectly executed. Probably, it was the storyline, or the effects, the entire thing was a thrilling experience. The escape room was fun. It had the most challenging puzzles and riddles to unravel for a mystery that is hidden inside the room. We lost. Could not complete it with in the time frame. Wished better luck next time to us. Overall, a great experience!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Fun and challenging.

    It was a great way to spend a Sunday night. Was there with my family and we had a good time. The scares were plenty and exciting. Monsters, weird characters, ghosts were awesome and enacted well by the actors. The escape room was fun and challenging. A perfect exercise for the brain after screams and laughter. One of the best haunts I have been to.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Only for horror freaks

    Loved the ambience and the set. Chittyville is for die hard horror freaks. The scares were spot on. The kind that can make anyone scared. The house was looking the gory way. Actors never shied away from playing the part.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Well worth the price

    Well worth the price and a fun time.Everything panned out well. The storyline had a logical flow but even then, we never could get away from getting startled. The jump scares caught us and made us dash for the exit. Surely coming back!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Enjoyed a lot...

    This was our first time here and we were so excited. Excellent props, sets and scare concepts! The rooms had different themes. Clowns scared the daylight out of my wife. Lair was quite unique and scary. This was my first time in an outdoor haunt. Escape rooms were challenging to say the least. Overall, we enjoyed our time in there.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted May 2020

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Well planned

    It was a scary fun night at the Chittyville school haunt and we had a great time. I was there with my friends on a Tuesday and we tried everything including the escape room. The haunted house was immaculately planned. There was no scope of error from the actors.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Great value

    Great value for the price haunt! The actors did a fab job. With the right makeover, they easily scared the wits out of us. Exceptional makeup and scenery. The escape room was so much fun. The puzzles were tough and putting the pieces together took us some time. Definitely coming back!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Thrilling experience

    The scares were perfectly executed. Probably, it was the storyline, or the effects, the entire thing was a thrilling experience. The escape room was fun. It had the most challenging puzzles and riddles to unravel for a mystery that is hidden inside the room. We lost. Could not complete it with in the time frame. Wished better luck next time to us. Overall, a great experience!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Fun and challenging.

    It was a great way to spend a Sunday night. Was there with my family and we had a good time. The scares were plenty and exciting. Monsters, weird characters, ghosts were awesome and enacted well by the actors. The escape room was fun and challenging. A perfect exercise for the brain after screams and laughter. One of the best haunts I have been to.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Only for horror freaks

    Loved the ambience and the set. Chittyville is for die hard horror freaks. The scares were spot on. The kind that can make anyone scared. The house was looking the gory way. Actors never shied away from playing the part.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Well worth the price

    Well worth the price and a fun time.Everything panned out well. The storyline had a logical flow but even then, we never could get away from getting startled. The jump scares caught us and made us dash for the exit. Surely coming back!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Visually stunning

    Best haunted house I’ve been to. It was visually stunning. We will definitely be back for some more scares soon!!! No complains.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Had a blast!

    Enjoyed every second of our time there. Went with my fiancée and we had a blast. The set was designed perfectly to match the theme. It had the ambience to scare us. The puzzles were mind boggling and we were racing against time to find the mystery. Thanks for a great night!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Absolutely loved

    Absolutely love this haunt! Kudos to the makeup department. The makeover looked startlingly real. The effect it had when they played the part was immense. The visual and audio effects complimented the scenes.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Unique N Scary

    This was our first time here and we were so excited. Excellent props, sets and scare concepts! The rooms had different themes. Clowns scared the daylight out of my wife. Lair was quite unique and scary. This was my first time in an outdoor haunt. Escape rooms were challenging to say the least. Overall, we enjoyed our time in there.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Terrifying Experience

    I haven’t experienced a haunted house like this. The escape rooms were really terrifying. Riddles were hard to solve. It was some team effort that eventually took us out. The Cemetery had some creepy sets and props. The Movie Theatre stand out. The Voodoo Room was very frightening as well. My wife even started to scream at one point. The staff were helpful. Recommend this.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Good

    I with my wife, daughter and son went to Haunting of Chittyville School. It had some unique scares that I have not seen anywhere else. The Theatre of the Macabre was very frightening. The False Elevator and the Hall Ways filled with fog, with scares around, could spook you out. The effort and the hard work put to design this house was really appreciable. Actors done their role well. The prices were reasonable as well. Definitely we will be back.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified LOVE IT

    I'm a local of southern Illinois. I grew up going to Chittyville every year. Now I know the owners and I volunteer there. It may not be the scariest haunted house, but the actors ACTUALLY care (they are all volunteers) and the King family has put everything they have into this to create an honestly terrifying experience that changes every day. Even the lore behind the place is terrifying (Lucy's coming to getcha!) Even some of the actors (including myself) are terrified of being alone during Blackout weekend because of the terrifying things that happened there. Overall, Chittyville is an amazing place that every Southern-Illinoisan should go to at least once in their lifetime

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2016

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Decent

    Its good but lots of rooms with no actors plus. All the teens arnt scary.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: 45-60 minutes
    Time Visited: After 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: Yes
    Posted October 2016

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • amazing

    I love it

    Posted October 2014

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 4 found this review helpful

  • Very disappointing

    Lots of advertising on the radio but it did not live up to the expectation. Multiple rooms with no actors or robots. Also lots of little kids and teens that were ineffective at scaring.

    Posted September 2014

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • lil over rated

    great place to take the babies on there 1st scare

    Posted October 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    0 out of 1 found this review helpful

The Haunting of Chittyville School
Review This Attraction

  • Click to rate
  • Do not use all capital letters. No profanity.
  • Be specific - the more details the better. No HTML.
  • Optional
  • Administrative use only. Will NOT be displayed
  • Click to rate
  • Click to rate
  • Click to rate
  • I have more to say about this haunt (optional)
  • Would you recommended to a friend?
  • Suitable for families with kids?