Log In   |   Sign Up

Advertisement

Statesville Haunted Prison® Reviews

 
« Back To Profile Leave A Review »
  • 17250 S. Weber Road
  • Lockport, IL
  • 815.741.9791
  • 877-SCARED2
Details
Average Review
Review Me
Scare Factor
Very Scary
Appropriate For
Adults Only, 10 and Under is not allowed
Organization Type
Commercial / For Profit
Listing Categories
Haunted Houses, Zombie Hunts & Shootouts, Haunted Mazes / Haunted Corn Mazes, Halloween Festivals & Parades, Scream Parks, Other Events
Review This Haunt
  • Email Verified BEST HAUNT EVER

    The detail and dedication to the art of haunting that John and his zombie army team is amazing. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave Statesville is truly and experience. 100/10 would recommend

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Creepy looking actors

    I and GF visited the haunt. We were amazed at the amount of work that goes behind the décor, sets and of course the attention to detail. The cells had an eerie air to it, and you’ll be scared out of your wits by its inmates non-stop. It also had some excellent props and special effects. The second haunt was the scariest. My GF had a harrowing time negotiating the City of the Dead. She was clinging on to me whenever we encountered a scare or a creepy looking actor. The makeup of actors were spot-on. Overall, it was a fun and scary experience. You won’t regret visiting this double feature haunt. I will visit next year for sure.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted February 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified 5 star haunt

    It is surely worth all the money and all of us had a good opinion about it. The place was replete with gory zombies in weird outfits. The city of dead was perfectly designed with caves, mine shafts, mass graves and prison. The visual effects need a special mention as it took away our breath. The props were surreal complete with blood and bones. The costume and makeup department excelled in portraying the characters played by the actors which had a good impact. On the whole a great entertainment option and we are waiting for the next season to start.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Scary good time

    It was a long drive but was worth with it. The set was akin to Universals with professional and creative touch. It is surrounded by mighty walls that have a burial pit, caves and mine shafts. The inmates of a mass grave were represented really well by the cast. The difference in the reality and the made up was blurred by their excellent portrayal, costume and makeup. I was shit scared to walk alone without grabbing someone's hand. Zombies are there to attack you from nowhere and you better find your way out before they get you. Had fun and scary good time.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Awesome scary experience

    It was my first visit to Statesville Haunted Prison and it turned out to be an awesome experience. It had well-appointed sets, eerie surroundings, creepy characters and a scary background story. The grotesque characters in the jail cells could scare the crap out of you. The City of the Dead ups the ante. It had some of the scariest props and actors. Beware of the bungee dude in the clown room. Actors were engaging and professional in their conduct. Ticket prices were reasonable as well. The overall experience was worth the money spent. I am planning to visit next time with my wife.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Scare you to the core

    I liked Statesville. It had amazing sets, good animatronics and props, and engaging actors who knew how to scare you to the core. The costumes and makeup looked realistic. The haunted prison had some on your face type scares. My favourite however was the City of the Dead. It was freaking scary from start to finish. It had some great hidden scares, effects and of course, creepy characters hell bent on giving you a harrowing time. Look out of the grotesque looking character Fluffy somewhere inside the haunt. I have been to many haunts, and this one clearly is one of the best. Looking forward for more scares next year.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • props looked realistic

    Seen the walking dead in movies and this was the first time I saw it in real, I mean close to real. The set was fantastic and was surreal. The prison and its inmates gave us a creep. The actors put a good show and were energetic throughout the evening. It was a carnival with zombies and the living dead. We stumbled upon props that looked realistic. Sound system was crisp and clear and reverberates through your ears into the mind and it echoes throughout. Had fun time and will be back next fall.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified BEST HAUNT EVER

    The detail and dedication to the art of haunting that John and his zombie army team is amazing. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave Statesville is truly and experience. 100/10 would recommend

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Creepy looking actors

    I and GF visited the haunt. We were amazed at the amount of work that goes behind the décor, sets and of course the attention to detail. The cells had an eerie air to it, and you’ll be scared out of your wits by its inmates non-stop. It also had some excellent props and special effects. The second haunt was the scariest. My GF had a harrowing time negotiating the City of the Dead. She was clinging on to me whenever we encountered a scare or a creepy looking actor. The makeup of actors were spot-on. Overall, it was a fun and scary experience. You won’t regret visiting this double feature haunt. I will visit next year for sure.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted February 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified 5 star haunt

    It is surely worth all the money and all of us had a good opinion about it. The place was replete with gory zombies in weird outfits. The city of dead was perfectly designed with caves, mine shafts, mass graves and prison. The visual effects need a special mention as it took away our breath. The props were surreal complete with blood and bones. The costume and makeup department excelled in portraying the characters played by the actors which had a good impact. On the whole a great entertainment option and we are waiting for the next season to start.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Scary good time

    It was a long drive but was worth with it. The set was akin to Universals with professional and creative touch. It is surrounded by mighty walls that have a burial pit, caves and mine shafts. The inmates of a mass grave were represented really well by the cast. The difference in the reality and the made up was blurred by their excellent portrayal, costume and makeup. I was shit scared to walk alone without grabbing someone's hand. Zombies are there to attack you from nowhere and you better find your way out before they get you. Had fun and scary good time.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Awesome scary experience

    It was my first visit to Statesville Haunted Prison and it turned out to be an awesome experience. It had well-appointed sets, eerie surroundings, creepy characters and a scary background story. The grotesque characters in the jail cells could scare the crap out of you. The City of the Dead ups the ante. It had some of the scariest props and actors. Beware of the bungee dude in the clown room. Actors were engaging and professional in their conduct. Ticket prices were reasonable as well. The overall experience was worth the money spent. I am planning to visit next time with my wife.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Scare you to the core

    I liked Statesville. It had amazing sets, good animatronics and props, and engaging actors who knew how to scare you to the core. The costumes and makeup looked realistic. The haunted prison had some on your face type scares. My favourite however was the City of the Dead. It was freaking scary from start to finish. It had some great hidden scares, effects and of course, creepy characters hell bent on giving you a harrowing time. Look out of the grotesque looking character Fluffy somewhere inside the haunt. I have been to many haunts, and this one clearly is one of the best. Looking forward for more scares next year.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • props looked realistic

    Seen the walking dead in movies and this was the first time I saw it in real, I mean close to real. The set was fantastic and was surreal. The prison and its inmates gave us a creep. The actors put a good show and were energetic throughout the evening. It was a carnival with zombies and the living dead. We stumbled upon props that looked realistic. Sound system was crisp and clear and reverberates through your ears into the mind and it echoes throughout. Had fun time and will be back next fall.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Scary prison

    We drove for 2 hours to reach there, and it was worth the drive. It was awesome creepy from start to finish. The walk through the creepy cells could freak you out. The scare actors will scare the daylight out of you. The city of the dead was the scariest. The zombies would chase you in the mine shafts. My GF was screaming all the time. The actor makeup/costumes were spot-on. To sum it up, Statesville provided a scare experience that you won’t get anywhere else. I will come again for sure.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Perfect horror with nasty prisoners

    Perfect place to get a blend of fun, horror and unexpected entertainment. Awesome experience. I don’t remember how many times I got scared and screamed seeing the nasty prisoners. The City of the Dead felt like we were in real hell. I haven't seen any haunt with so many actors! Keep it up guys!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Intense terror

    Intense terror awaits you at this place. Mind blowing performance by actors. They never ran out of energy in scaring me. Loved it!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Terrible

    Terrible!!! Firstly, the long lines make it boring even though they try to entertain you while in queues. Secondly it’s too overcrowded inside the house. Some of the actors are so nasty, they even blow on you face and it’s really disgusting. Not worth the money, time.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 5 found this review helpful

  • Damn scaring prison

    It’s a damn scaring place we had a blast here! Full of scaring stuffs inside the house, especially the guy in the dog cage. Got the fast pass tickets to explore both attractions and I’ll rate haunted prison the best as it was very unique backed with special effects. Looking forward to the same in the next year.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Over rated haunt

    Over rated haunt. Literally walked through the whole thing just to see some arrogant actors screaming loud and breathing in your face. They are charging $30 while it’s only $15 worth. Refund please.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 5 found this review helpful

  • Great !!

    This was my first time going to a haunted house. I enjoyed myself from the beginning to end. The actors, decorations, music, lights, makeup, costumes EVERYTHING WAS GREAT!!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Excellent, worth the trip forsure!!!!

    15 of us traveled from Minnesota to check this out, we were not disappointed!!! It was amazing!! Actors (makeup & costumes) were outstanding, it was hard to tell the difference at times between props & real as the props were as creepy & lifelike as the actors. The scare factor was intense! We got a "behind the scenes" tour which we all loved...Statesville haunted prison was hands down the best haunt we've went to in the last 5 years (we've been to many), it's going to be hard to top this & choosing our out of town haunt next year is going to be difficult!! Everyone should visit this place!!! Thank you...OUTSTANDING!!!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified True taste of horror

    I screamed a hell lot times. Perfect place to get a true taste of horror. Amazing actors, especially the butcher guy. Excellent design of sets portrayed the true picture of mine shafts and frequent encounters with zombies were so much fun. I never left my boyfriend till we were out of the house. Worth spending money and time.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • New themes every year

    Scintillating performance by actors. My kids really enjoyed at this place and we are visiting for last two years. They always bring new themes on the board. This year pricing was a bit high tough. Highly recommended.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Intense scary attraction

    Great place to have horrors’ type of fun. Full of intense scary attractions and incredible actors who performed an awesome task in frightening all of us like anything. Substantial special effects and animatronics to create heart impounding feelings. Worth spending $$ and time.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Very disappointing

    Traveled around two hours to reach here. Got the VIP ticket and hence expected to enter the haunt without much waiting. Noticed the general tickets line and it’s ridiculous. For VIP tickets there is another line. Inside the haunted house also you are in a line and you could easily see what is going to come out. So there is nothing to scare about. Very disappointing.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Statesville Haunted Prison

    Went to statesville the other night and was not that impressed. It was pouring rain when we went, so not a lot of people came out. The lines weren’t that long and I thought the people in line were scarier than in the actual haunted house. The decorations and set up was awesome, almost as good or better than you would see in Hollywood. But, they push you through the haunted house so fast, it’s hard to take it in and have fun. They don’t send you in with your individual group, so you’re going with a big group of people and the actors scare the people in front, but the people behind them already see the actor, so that’s kind of ruins the fun of it. I also think they could hide the actors a little more, they were just kind of out in the open and not popping out scaring people. I also was expecting more from the clown room. Again, the set up and decorations were AMAZING, but there weren’t a lot of clowns when we went through. I always get SO scared at haunted house, but I walked through maybe only screaming once or twice. Overall, it wasn’t that bad, but I defiantly would not pay $60 to go back. Also, huge S/O to the actors scaring people in line keeping them entertained. You guys are awesome.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Hair raising! In your face! Horror

    This by far is one of the best haunted houses in the Midwest. Zombie Army puts together one of the best in your face, fear grabbing shows. From start to finish the crazy train doesn’t stop. The outside entertainment is top notch and has you looking every five seconds to see what gruesome, macabre, awesome character is behind you ready to scare you especially Fluffy. This haunted house is a must to visit every October.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Amazing!

    I went on October 14 at 9:30ish. First of all, the lines weren’t that bad. Sure I waited at least 30-40 min, but god damn the entertainers were fantastic! They weee dancing and interacting w people! They made time go by fast. Other than that, the haunt itself was fantastic too. Props, makeup, scenery. It legit made me feel like a prisoner. Man I LOVE THIS PLACE! Hopefully one day I get to see behind the scenes. I’ve been to statesville 3x so far this year. And I get a different experience every time.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Awesome job

    shirtless clown was so much fun. Scary but fun

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Not for faint hearts

    A place not for faint hearts. Full of terror and scary stuffs. Industrious actors draped in scary costumes made us screamed a lot. Thanks to outside vendor snacks store to replenish our energy. General admission ticket was $30; even though we bought 10 tickets for our group they haven’t given any discount. Else I would have rated them five stars.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • OMG!

    Great experience. Go every year. Never been disappointed.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Best haunted house zombie army rocks

    Best haunted house around zombie army does there best keep up the great work you guys are amazing can't wait til u open for 2017

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted May 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • It was ok but over priced

    Went there last night, got there around 7pm. The lines weren't bad. I've heard and read so many great reviews about this place so maybe I expected more. Truth be told, I was not scared at all. The only scare I really had was because I have been deathly afraid of clowns all my life and there is a room full of them but other than that the attraction is too hyped up and not scary at all. I walked through the rest of the rooms like I was walking around Disney World. Also there were too many groups let in at once.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2016

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 4 found this review helpful

  • Very professional

    Friends, there are haunted house attractions, and then there is this place. Who thinks this stuff up? This place is like Walt Disney's worst nightmare! There is a demon that will fit in everybody's closet here. Bravo!!!

    Posted October 2014

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    8 out of 9 found this review helpful

  • gruesome, hair raising fun!

    Best haunted house in Illinois hands down! No words can explain how much fun I had screaming my head off. Must see for yourself!

    Posted October 2014

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    8 out of 9 found this review helpful

  • awesome

    got there early and there was little to no wait. definitely some of the best makeup and costumes I have seen and will for sure go back

    Posted October 2014

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    5 out of 6 found this review helpful

  • Bring a change of drawers

    Pooped my pants twice...had to free ball it on the way home. Stinky Scary Stinky Scary

    Posted September 2014

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    5 out of 6 found this review helpful

  • SCARY

    when do you open

    Posted September 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 7 found this review helpful

  • AMAZING

    This is the best haunted house ever! They do a great job at making everything look so realistic

    Posted September 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    5 out of 6 found this review helpful

Statesville Haunted Prison®
Review This Attraction

  • Click to rate
  • Do not use all capital letters. No profanity.
  • Be specific - the more details the better. No HTML.
  • Optional
  • Administrative use only. Will NOT be displayed
  • Click to rate
  • Click to rate
  • Click to rate
  • I have more to say about this haunt (optional)
  • Would you recommended to a friend?
  • Suitable for families with kids?