Log In   |   Sign Up

Advertisement

13th Floor Haunted House Chicago Reviews

 
« Back To Profile
  • 1940 George St.
  • Melrose Park, IL
  • (708) 571-3326
Details
Average Review
Review Me
Scare Factor
Very Scary
Appropriate For
12+
Organization Type
Commercial / For Profit
Listing Categories
Haunted Houses
Review This Haunt
  • Great scary night

    I am regular visitor of 13th Floor and every year they have something new. It is one of the best places to visit during Halloween. I could say it is the best haunt for those who love adventure. Me and my family had a great scary night. Highly recommended.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Very Realistic

    I had visited many haunted houses. But the experiences in 13th Floor Haunted House Chicago were different. It had realistic sets and amazing actors. Every corner of the house was properly utilized. The experiences in the Cursed Purgatory was very terrifying. The character Belladonna in the Cursed freaked us out. The witches during the wood trail scared the crap out of my GF. I can’t say how many times I jumped and screamed in the haunt. The effort and time put to design as well as decorate this house is commendable. I would love to come again, possibly with my kids as well.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Professional actors

    Awesome experience. Professional actors did a nice job. Worth spending money and time in the queue at last.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Screamed a lot

    A champion of haunted houses. Amazing scenery inside the rooms full of scary stuffs. Impressed by the decorations on the walls as it was portraying stains of blood. All actors have shown a true character of ghosts and astonished by their outfits and makeups. I screamed more often than other traditional haunted houses. Worth spending $$

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Too predictable

    The haunted house wasn’t scary at all. The scares were too predictable and only less number of actors.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Different Experience

    The line to the house was very long..but the visit was worth the wait. Special effects were really awesome. The Laser room was a different experience altogether. My wife is scared of clowns. The house had lots of them, and one clown even chased her inside the house as she started to scream and run. The blackout event was very frightening. You got to navigate your way through the entire house with the aid of only one glow stick. Creepy monsters scare you on the way.. one even tried to steal our glow sticks couple of times. The Tilt room and the Swamp were super scary. There was also lots of unexpected scares in different corners of the house. For the terrors we saw, the prices per head were reasonable. Recommend this place to all scare lovers.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Fantastic and cool experience

    Fantastic and cool experience. Waiting time was pretty long but worth it. The monsters are very scary which made the haunt feel more realistic. We had a scary night with fun. Thanks for giving a wonderful experience.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Great scary night

    I am regular visitor of 13th Floor and every year they have something new. It is one of the best places to visit during Halloween. I could say it is the best haunt for those who love adventure. Me and my family had a great scary night. Highly recommended.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Very Realistic

    I had visited many haunted houses. But the experiences in 13th Floor Haunted House Chicago were different. It had realistic sets and amazing actors. Every corner of the house was properly utilized. The experiences in the Cursed Purgatory was very terrifying. The character Belladonna in the Cursed freaked us out. The witches during the wood trail scared the crap out of my GF. I can’t say how many times I jumped and screamed in the haunt. The effort and time put to design as well as decorate this house is commendable. I would love to come again, possibly with my kids as well.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Professional actors

    Awesome experience. Professional actors did a nice job. Worth spending money and time in the queue at last.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Screamed a lot

    A champion of haunted houses. Amazing scenery inside the rooms full of scary stuffs. Impressed by the decorations on the walls as it was portraying stains of blood. All actors have shown a true character of ghosts and astonished by their outfits and makeups. I screamed more often than other traditional haunted houses. Worth spending $$

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Too predictable

    The haunted house wasn’t scary at all. The scares were too predictable and only less number of actors.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Different Experience

    The line to the house was very long..but the visit was worth the wait. Special effects were really awesome. The Laser room was a different experience altogether. My wife is scared of clowns. The house had lots of them, and one clown even chased her inside the house as she started to scream and run. The blackout event was very frightening. You got to navigate your way through the entire house with the aid of only one glow stick. Creepy monsters scare you on the way.. one even tried to steal our glow sticks couple of times. The Tilt room and the Swamp were super scary. There was also lots of unexpected scares in different corners of the house. For the terrors we saw, the prices per head were reasonable. Recommend this place to all scare lovers.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Fantastic and cool experience

    Fantastic and cool experience. Waiting time was pretty long but worth it. The monsters are very scary which made the haunt feel more realistic. We had a scary night with fun. Thanks for giving a wonderful experience.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified An hour full of terror

    OMG. This place deserves an accolade in the haunted arena. Amazing actors and very friendly staffs. We spent an hour full of terrors, scares, scream, yell and jump. Thanks 13th floor, for a wonderful horror experience.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    0 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • True Halloween experience

    Great haunted house. We got the fast pass tickets to skip the queue and get into the real actions in a few minutes. Well designed sets, steep stairs and dark rooms powered by highly skilled actors perfectly set the tone of horror. My girlfriend held my t-shirt till the exit from the house. Certainly, we’ll be visiting again for a true Halloween experience.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Full of scare

    One of the best haunted houses in Chicago. Great actors. Full of scary stuffs inside the house and I can’t wait to back there.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Not scary

    I'm a typical screamer but I didn’t find anything scary here. The actors’ costumes were excellent but some of them were very unprofessional and rude.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Excellent creativity

    Excellent creativity really scary. Had lots of fun with my grand children. They loved the place and I am extremely happy. Will be back next year.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Much Improved over last Year

    13th Floor is a haunt that the Tourers definitely approached with some caution and skepticism based on our experiences from last year. While we liked the haunt last year, we felt that it had recycled too much from the 11th Hour (the haunt that previously occupied their space), had too few actors with too many similar performances, and was far too short (only 13 minutes) for the rather high prices being charged. Thus, we went into our 2015 visit with lowered expectations. Thankfully we were not disappointed this time!While 13th Floor is still expensive (with general admission prices on certain nights being about $33 per person and full VIP over $50 per person), we did find that it had greatly improved in all of the other areas that we found lacking last year.First, the set design was outstanding, perhaps the best we have seen in any haunt thus far. The best sets from last year (the crypt/church and abandoned house) were still there, but were enhanced even more, and the parts recycled from 11th Hour were transformed into brand new sets that were also very elaborate. Second, the actors were more plentiful and more varied in their presentations, with many managing to keep their performances creepy and amusing at the same time. Third, the haunt was a bit longer, clocking in at about 18 minutes this time, although that could simply have been due to our taking our time to admire the sets. Specifically, there is a little something for everyone at 13th Floor. For those who love set design (as we do), there are some simply stunning set pieces inside, including a crumbling church complete with bell tower and a bell that appears to have crashed down from the ceiling and embedded itself into a staircase, an old mansion with grand staircase and large chandelier hanging from a dilapidated ceiling, and an entire street scene that looks like something out of turn of the century Bavaria or Transylvania, with quaint storefronts and even a public fountain. Oh, and it's populated by werewolves!Added to these were scenes depicting an rickety shack in the woods, an auto repair shop, casino, bar, barber shop (something we've not seen before in a haunt), library, apothecary shop and many more locations, all of which were highly detailed, down to the types of medicine on the shelves, the detailing on the playing cards in the casino, and much more. There was simply too much to take in, and we found ourselves lingering in each room just to soak up the atmosphere.The sections outside of the rooms were highly detailed, too, with each one leading into the next and the inside features being continued on the outside. For example, when exiting the collapsed church, the outside scene showed a wall at an odd angle, partially falling down over visitors' heads, and when moving into the mansion, visitors first passed through an actual street scene with outside storefronts.Our favorite scenes included the crypt and church, which had giant tombstones, fog, candles, and all of the typical things one might find in such an area, as well as a main hall with collapsed ceiling, scattered pews and a demonic bishop character who stood in the corner and stared at us, only to follow us as the path made us walk right by him. He was a standout form last year and we're happy he made a return appearance this time around. We also loved the werewolf setting with its storefronts and old signage, the main hall of the abandoned mansion, the barber shop, casino, and the former redneck shack, now occupied by not only a laughing redneck but also a crazy clown who too great pleasure in taunting us.To give you an idea of the level of detail, in the clown's room there were numerous famous paintings on the wall, all of which had clown faces. It appeared as though the clown faces were actually painted on the real painting and not simply applied over the existing one. These were so subtle as to be easily missed, and would have worked just fine as ordinary paintings, so having them there shows just how detailed 13th Floor is.The acting, too, had improved from last year, with many actors varying their performances, from sluggish zombies, to slithering little creepy actors, to laughing maniacs, each one managed to be at least slightly different from the rest. Special mention must go again to the bishop, as well as the many werewolves, the creepy, crazy clown and the laughing redneck, as well as the twitchy nurse who moved from spot to spot and shook her curly hair at us, then stood very still until suddenly moving again. Also, 13th Floor managed to be very creative with the locations that the actors could pop out at visitors. Many scenes featured actors that popped out from far above or far below visitors' eyelines, or from between scenes and sets, keeping visitors on their toes. There were actors that laughed at us from rooftops, who grasped at us through open windows, and even one who popped out of a horizontal freezer bay in the morgue. All of this served to make each room very interesting.Overall, we're happy to say that 13th Floor was much better this year than last, and that it made a lot of progress towards living up to the marketing hype that surrounds it. While we still would say that the price is high (especially when it's even higher on certain dates during the season, which smacks a bit of price gouging), if you can find a deal on Groupon or Living Social, or if you can go on an off night and get general admission tickets and get there before they open to beat the line, 13th Floor does offer a very immersive experience. We'd love to see more detailed costuming on some of the inside actors (who mostly wore standard makeup) and perhaps more prosthetics (as the wait line actors wore) as well. However, we were pleasantly surprised this time around and we're happy to say that 13th Floor has moved from our "might visit" list to our "must visit" list for 2016!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: 11-20 minutes
    Time Visited: After 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: Unsure
    Posted September 2015

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    4 out of 5 found this review helpful

Review This Attraction

  • Click to rate
  • Do not use all capital letters. No profanity.
  • Be specific - the more details the better. No HTML.
  • Administrative use only. Will NOT be displayed
  • Click to rate
  • Click to rate
  • Click to rate
  • I have more to say about this haunt (optional)
  • Would you recommended to a friend?
  • Suitable for families with kids?